Primary research

In this task, I will be performing primary research for my project. This research will be of movement of someone wielding a staff and I will analyze where elements of the 12 principles of animation can be found, can be placed or why people would place a method there within an animation.

aikido-staff-kata

 

(Vexsue, 2011) (Seabreeze, 2016)

I will be using these poses as a reference for the movements I want to conduct on camera. These will also help me to create sketched storyboards of the actions that will be animated and rotoscoped. The filmed movements that I will conduct will be used for analysing where the 12 principles of animation will be or if they are visible within the filmed elements.

The main idea I had thought of for one of my animations before finding this reference was that my character would catch the blade and swing it in an arc motion. The only problem I had when drawing out the movements was that I have an idea on how this would look or if this would even look natural, so I needed to find a reference or a sheet of poses that I could use to base the motions on.

With these poses, I also will do a few 1 to 3-minute briefs in which I will use a reference image of a man wielding a staff. I will use the line of action method in which this will help me draw out the pose. These will be very quick sketches in which I hope to accomplish a more fluid and free looking drawing. This will help me when it comes to drawing my frames of animation.

1 minute:

PS3_K200-MFD1_4845_001_Page_5

2 minutes:

PS3_K200-MFD1_4845_001_Page_6

3 minutes:

PS3_K200-MFD1_4849_001_Page_2

Main reference image:

482475343_XS

(Unknown, 2015)


Rotoscoping

In this task, I will be filming myself creating an action in which I want my character to perform in. I will identify what rotoscoping is and how I created my own rotoscoped clip. I will also identify what principles of animation I would use within the movement of the rotoscoped clip and any safety measurements that were needed to be carried out.

The question I am asking is, What limitations are there for adding the 12 principles of animation to a piece of rotoscoped footage, what effects will I get placing the principles in the rotoscoped footage and what is the most effective in displaying character, weight, and force

stick-figure-animation-staff

First, we found a clear open and uncluttered room, we then set up the camera on a tripod at least 4 to 5 meters away from where the action will be performed. Another person will then test act so the other person managing the camera can see if the placement and stage are set up correctly.

The main actor will take a few shots creating the action, changing speeds each recording to see what looks better. The film is then taken from the camera and placed on a computer, which is then imported into Photoshop in a frame by frame format. Once in Photoshop, the animation timeline tool will be set up to have the frames placed with the correct speed to animate them. The frames can be changed or swapped by changing which layer is present on that frame. So using blank layers, I traced over the recorded images and placed then within the timeline frames. Using this I was also able to correct any misshapen sketches in frames, to make the animation more consistent and not as messy.

Once I was able to complete the tracings of the fames I first save the animation as an animated GIF, I will then convert the animated frames into a video file and save it as an MP4.


SAFETY!

When performing these actions on camera we need to ensure that the environment around us is clear with no hazards and that anyone that works with you is safe. I will explain the hazards of this work and I will explain how they can be prevented.

When acting out these stunts, I will need to ensure that the environment that I will perform in is clear of any obstacles such as, tables, chairs, cables and nearby people. When I film I also need to ensure that the camera is not right next to where I’m performing because when acting out the movements, the camera could get knocked over and damaged in some form.


What did I find out?

When I viewed the images of the different weapon poses, it gave me more of a variety to work in. This allowed me to experiment with different actions and poses, helping me get a more fluid motion within the actions I will need to draw out to create my animations.

Getting an idea of what actions I will want to create also allows me to see what principles can also be added. Such as the idea for a underarm swing, the principles I could use would be, arcs for the arc motion that the weapon to move in, exaggeration to show the power of the swing and the strength of the character, slow in and slow out to show the weight and gravitational pull on the weapon and anticipation to show the build up to the main action.

When I created my rotoscoped animation, it allowed me to understand how fluid the character would move in and how the body would move in an angled view. This experiment also gives me a chance to see what parts of the action would need any of the principles of animation.

Another good element about this find was the fact that I was able to understand how to make the character look more dimensional on an angled view.

