Ideas for a project

In this task, I will be starting to come up with ideas for three projects that I could make using skills and methods that I have learned within this course. I will provide references to skills I have required and will be building foundations for ideas.

Idea one/ Concept drawing for animation or game

What will I produce?

I am considering creating pieces of concept drawing for a story of my creation. I will also include all research that will be conducted following up by referencing all materials and showing that within evaluation and the concept drawing itself.

Why am I considering to make this?

I am considering to make this because I need some full descriptive concepts on a story that I am hoping to fully animate in the future. I need to start making visual concepts to building the structure of a physical version of the story so I can soon start to make progress on animating it. This will also help me to perfect the timeline and style of the story.

Why is this important to me?

This is important to me because this is a story that I have been producing for a while. I have been producing characters and visual aspects to display a way I can communicate with other people, and also help others understand the feelings of different and unique atmospheres that I have experienced through different dreams and occurrences.

What skills would I be using?

For this task, the skills that I need to use are my drawing skills to make the concept pieces, I will need my evaluation skills to evaluate the steps I take to make the concept drawings and the research I have conducted.

What is my target audience?

For my target audience, I would allow ages 10 and onwards. This is because some of the concepts can be a little graphic and unsuitable for any younger viewers. But some other people that also work in this demographic, might like to use these concepts for research in their projects. There are also other audiences that would be looking for people to work for them as concept artists, this would help me to find suitable job offers that match my skills and ambitions, and would also be a good thing to add to my CV.

What research will I be carrying out?

For this task, I will need to research for images that can relate to the story in some way, this would help me to get inspiration for the concept Drawing that I will be producing. There are also elements within the story which mixtures of items that can be found in real life, so I would need images or real items that I can use for research and inspiration.


Idea two/ 2D Animated GIF

What will I produce?

I am considering creating a small animated GIF that, would consist of one of the characters of my story. In the animation, the character will summon a staff/sword with their powers and will swing the blade in an attack action.

Why am I considering to make this?

I am considering making this animation because I want to continue building up my drawing and animating skills, this will also allow me to extend my portfolio for if I find any animation courses or job offers. I’m also considering doing this because I want to extend my skills on evaluating animations that I have produced and that will allow me to use this technique in the future.

Why is this important to me?

This is important to me because I want to make my animation skill stronger for my future career. This will also be something I can use in future projects, as I might need

What skills would I be using?

The skills that I would be using to create this work will be would be the skills do draw, animate, research, layout, evaluate and time management.

What is my target audience?

For my target audience in age perspective. The aimed is towards any age if it was just someone previewing the GIF, but if they were to preview the story behind the GIF alongside it, then it will be aimed towards ages 10 and onwards. For other topics, this piece will target people interested in finding an animator for commission work or for a part or fall time job.

What research will I be carrying out?

The research I will need to carry out for this project is movements and actions, elements of a frame by frame animation, references of staff-wielding poses, videos with people acting out movements, art styles for ideas on what the GIF can look like and methods to help me animate better.


Idea three/ Textured character model

What will I produce?

I am considering creating a few textured 3D character model, the models will be that of characters of my own design that belongs in my story. This 3D model will be fully textured and coloured.

Why am I considering to make this?

I am considering making a few 3D models because I would like to experiment with ways in which to 3D model. I want to see what method is most effective when 3D modeling and I want to create my own characters into a 3D model that I could possibly use for 3D animation or for other projects.

What skills would I be using?

Within this the skills I will be using are my skills to draw to create all body angles of my character to work from, I will also be using the 3D modelling skills that I had obtained while working within this course.

What is my target audience?

For my target audience will be people from ages 13 to 40 years old, people, who are interested in character design and illustration to 3D modeling, texturing and rendering. This will also be for the people that are looking for education within the 3D modeling industry.

What research will I be carrying out?

The research I will need to carry out for this project is character modeling videos or articles, character model texture videos or articles, images of 3D models for referencing, how a 3D model skeleton works.

Project proposal

Name Danielle May Soulsby
Pathway UAL Digital Design and Animation, Level 3
Project Title Character and the 12 Principles of animation
Section 1: Rationale (Approx. 100 words)
I have been interested in animation since I was younger and have always wanted to put myself into my own animation. I have experimented with animation on the course in my term two projects and would like to explore animation for my extended project. As part of our term two projects, we investigated animation and the 12 principles of animation and I would like to study this for my project. The twelve principles are important to animation to help show character and are important for telling audiences about what a character is doing or feeling. I also want to further my understanding of the animation sector within the media industry, understanding the problems I might come across when creating animation work, and how I can distribute work for audiences to view.
Section 2: Project Concept (approx. 200 words)
I want to explore the 12 principles of animation and experiment with all 12 principles to see what effects the methods have on character animation. I will research what the methods do and what types of animation these principles can be used in. I will then use this knowledge to help create my final outcome. What I plan to accomplish with my final outcome is to make a series of three 2D animated sequences depicting my own character, based on my own story that I have been developing.

I am inspired by Who Framed Roger Rabbit and the way that it mixes live action and animation to create interesting effects. When I was younger, I would also make characters out of paper and felt, and I would like to bring these ideas to life.

My target audience for the project will be anyone interested in animation, especially people who are in education or studying animation. I plan to present and distribute my work on YouTube and other social platforms.

For my project I will be working as lead animator. To create the final piece I will need Adobe Photoshop and a Wacom or Huion graphics tablet.

Section 3: Evaluation (approx. 150 words)
For my evaluation, I will complete a daily log explaining my tasks and what I had to do to complete them, as well as the problems and complications I came across, how it affected my work, and how I was able to solve them. I will also evaluate primary research I have conducted and display this conducted research/ evaluation within blogs explaining the methods used. All this research will be evaluated for what I had learned and how I would be able to use this obtained knowledge for future work and projects.

At the end of my project I will complete an overall evaluation and will also get feedback from my peers. This will help me to understand the strengths of my work and how I could improve it for the future.

 

 

 

 

Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)

 

 

Tutorials, A., 2015. YouTube (10. Exaggeration- 12 principles of animation. [Online]
Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HfFj-VQKiAM
[Accessed 4th May 2017].

Unknown, 2012. road2animate. [Online]
Available at: https://road2animate.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/12-principles-of-animation-for-3d-animators/
[Accessed 19th May 2017].

Unknown, 2014. 12 principles of animation. [Online]
Available at: http://www.bluepony.com/12-principles-of-animation/
[Accessed 4th May 2017].

Unknown, unknown . Jumping animation frames. [Online]
Available at: http://ghete.info/jumping-animation-frames
[Accessed 4th May 2017].

Unknown, Unknown. follow through and Overlapping Action. [Online]
Available at: https://www.evl.uic.edu/ralph/508S99/follow.html
[Accessed 4th May 2017].

 

 

 

