My name is Danielle Soulsby and what I want to do with my life is to create animations or maybe a game or two about my own fictional characters. I heard about the course when I was trying to look up a course in Canterbury college for animation, After I had been at the college for 2 years doing Art and Design for level 1 and 2. I got distinction in both levels of art and design. These grades allowed me to join the level 3 media digital design and social media. at the moment. Future plans for thither education is still being planned but I think that I might join the university of arts for more education in animation to extend my knowledge on the subject.

I am inspired by animations. I like cartoon shows and I watch films, ranging from 3D animation to 2D and animating with models like in Wallace and Gromit or Tim Burton’s ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’  Bringing fictional characters to life seems to interest me, for example – how life like something fictional can become.

I have been drawing cartoons for quite a few years. Its what I’ve spent my whole my life doing. I got lots  of drawings and illustrations of my fictional characters but I want my characters to be animated, so move and act as if they where alive. I would rather animate them myself than request or commission it. I feel like if I asked for someone else to do it, it would not be my creation.

I have tried a few forms of animation from flip books for frame to frame animation but I have not animated in 3D yet. I am eager to learn on how to animate and model. I have tried to learn to us 3D programs before like 3Ds max and I’m also learning how to use  Valve’s program (called source film maker) that I use on my laptop at home. Joining this course will help me get a better change to understand digital design and social media.

Even if I have trouble with English, since I have dyslexia, however my skills in other subjects push me to learn stuff even if I have trouble understanding. This can slow me down when it comes to figuring out how to use programs on the pc.

I see myself as ‘crazy and creative.’  I am willing to try my best to reach my goal and understand how to use these new skills, to over come my limits of understanding and have my work as well known as the creators of Coraline and The Nightmare Before Christmas.

